The Paint Conductor

Monday, September 17, 2012

© Matthew Venables, Paul Gilsenan and Know-U, 2012. All Rights Reserved

Around Xmas, my good buddy Pauly Gee and I spent a fortnight shooting this material. Paul was deep into a six month commission to paint sixteen large panels for the new building at Wollongong University, logging long lonely days at my “studio” in Turrella. At a certain stage we got excited about making some animation, and this video is our experiment, a proof of concept that lurched somewhat out of control. Every trick we thought of spawned a multitude of other possibilities.About sixteen days worth of toil over the dead period at the end of the year, shot with available light in the corner of a small room, it was fun at the time to capture and shape, but decidedly painful in post-production…not as good as it shoulda been to my mind, thwarted by the limits of my video post production skills and promises of help finishing and polishing the thing from friends of friends that were never forthcoming. I like what we did but can`t help but seeing the shortcomings…anyway.

One thought on “The Paint Conductor

Leave a comment